blog

tech junk? tech junk.

Mon .

Spring cleaning at my parents' house, got rid of an old entertainment system shelf in the basement that was falling apart, harvested some old VHS tapes, computer games, and floppy disks.


Lucky me, that there in the top left is a USB disk drive so I can make sure I've truly nuked all my teenage fanfic text files from the digital face of the planet. What? Nothing.

I've been advised to hold onto these copies of Baldur's Gate in their boxes; they've definately been opened and played, not NRFB. The CD ROMs and instructional manuals are all still inside.

There are a few home movies, dance recitals, football games, etc., that I'm going to get digitized.

I also have two Monkees concert tapes from the 80s/90s I bought at comic conventions back in the day. A YouTube search tells me they're already uploaded? I don't have a VCR to check if the footage is the same though.

Kiwi is very interested and helping.

I have contacted a local tech recycling center for advice on what to do with all these items. I know there's even more of it tucked away somewhere. I don't know that I would even feel good about donating this stuff as I'm sure it's degraded over time in storage, nevermind just from the years of plays and replays, and I don't want to pass along unusable items that could instead be safely recycled; trying to be more mindful of what I donate and where. I've found some fun DIY projects for old media so maybe I'll check around schools and art studios to see if anyone wants to harvest this stuff for collage or assemblage projects?

Remember when we cherished all of our physical media items like they would be timeless? Those precious Disney clamshell cases ... Yeah. Not even trying to think about all our shelves and shelves of DVDs and Blu-rays ...

◉ rss   ◉ blog