blog

laser cutter bonanza

sun .

Y'ALL

ok so at work we have a laser cutter, it's mainly used to etch name plates for clients

but guess what

GUESS WHAT. I've somehow only just realized the potential of me having access to a laser cutter? my managers are super cool and they've been helping me figure out how to etch and cut custom designs into acrylic sheets! at a glance it's a super simple process: design vector file, differentiate between raster (etching) and vector (cutting), send file to printer, printer does the thing, object is created. but the results??? are the COOLEST i am ASTOUNDED

I made these clear babies initially just for testing n practicing but they're just so darn shiny and neat! so naturally i'm putting them to good use as jewelry, keychains, and zipper pulls:

my big idea, inspired by these absolutely sick custom iridescent sword earrings, is to make Sting, the dagger Bilbo finds among the Trolls' hoarde in The Hobbit. I'm kinda a lil bit of a Hobbit/LotR nerd fyi and i've been particularly taken with the design and concept of Sting; a short-sword, perfectly sized for a halfling, glows blue in the presence of orcs so you know it's time to either hide, run, or fight, and i just love the shape and look of it overall. Plus Samwise uses it to completely wreck Shelob's shit in the name of his bestie and that's badass

earrings: Monster Cliche

I took a photo of a prop from the Weta Workshop and translated it using lines & shapes into a vector image file. then we did a test using scrap plastic which just kind of melted around the sharp edges, but i used that information to go back and increase the outer margin so the laser wasn't cutting such tiny little corners


PNG export of vector file

first test with scrap plastic lying around the shop, this stuff just kind of melted

thankfully the sheet of fluorescent blue acrylic i bought took to the laser cutter much more smoothly

(shoutout to Delvie's plastics)

After some more troubleshooting w/the laser focus, some teeny tiny hole drilling, and adding jump rings etc i am now very pleased to announce that I have FIVE (5) pairs of Sting earrings that will go on sale in my Etsy store... SOON!! watch this space and stay tuned for a new featured page

I already have my eye on a sheet of gorgeous fluorescent yellow and am cooking up some new ideas for that hehe... . .. . well, bye!

◉ rss   ◉ blog